Ask An Alchemist – Is Alchemy Evil?

Eugene writes:

Hello Mr. Forest,

My name is Eugene and I am studying Physics at a University in New Hampshire. I have recently taken an interest in alchemy and I want to learn more about it to see if it is something I would be interested in. I have heard that Sir Isaac Newton, a man who revolutionized the world of Physics, practiced alchemy and this peaked my interest.

A little background on myself: I would consider myself to be a religious person, following Orthodox Christianity. I know nothing about alchemy so it is a little intimidating. I’d like to think of it as a scientific process rather than magic or witchcraft as I have always been taught that those things are evil. I don’t want to get myself involved in things that are evil haha. I also am unsure on why people study alchemy. I’ve heard things about “The Philosopher’s Stone” (mostly from tv shows and movies) and it is not something that I am interested in, nor is immortality or power. I only want to get a better understanding of the world and universe. That is one of the reasons I am studying Physics. I probably sound like an idiot. I assure you; my interest is sincere. Hopefully you can get back in touch with me as I am very interested in looking into this.

Thank you for your time,

Eugene

 

My Reply:

Hi Eugene,

Thank you for your excellent and very sincere questions.  Here’s my response!

If you had a chance to listen (or read here on WordPress) The MAP ep 11 “What is Astrotheology?” you probably got a sense that my approach to Alchemy is that of a scientist pursuing an esoteric science.  From where I stand, there isn’t any “Magic” or Hocus Pocus involved in Alchemy or its pursuit (as you may have seen in video or in the movies).  In The MAP ep 12 “Human Alchemy & The Art of Thinking”I reveal some of the cognitive tips, tricks, and perceptions I have developed over the years while in pursuit of Alchemy, and in Ask An Alchemist “Time, Time Travel, and Consciousness” I try and show you where you can go given a particular perspective.   

Your study of physics parallels my own interest, however I would definitely recommend that you also study chemistry, as that the field of chemistry more accurately reveals the nature and complexion of the universe at large and provides you the necessary language to express the universe in ELECTRICAL terms rather than the terms we are given in the study of standard model or theoretical physics.  Furthermore, the study of chemistry lends itself nicely to the study of biology, botany, and geology and will provide you insights into those structures which are unavailable from the standpoint of standard model or theoretical physics.  

Is Alchemy evil?  No.  Alchemy is an esoteric science, from which all contemporary exoteric sciences find their root.  With regard to evil, it has been my experience what is defined as being evil can very much depend upon one’s perspective.  In religious terms, if something stands in opposition to something that is perceived or assumed to be “Good” or of/from God, that thing (or person) is often considered evil.  In this regard, I should warn you that any serious pursuit of Alchemy will eventually lead you toward a study of astrotheology, mythology, archaeology, and the collective narratives left to us by our ancient ancestors; and to view them from a perennial perspective.  This course of study will redefine how you perceive scripture, often leading to a crisis of faith should you be a literalist and approach scripture from a fundamental point of view.  In a very real sense, this crisis mirrors the observation of Paul in 1 Corinthians 13:11 wherein the thoughts and actions of childhood are replaced with a more mature perspective. From the standpoint of one bound to a fundamental interpretation of scripture (or any mythology), any who deny the efficacy of scripture is inherently evil (or aligned with evil).   It’s not always easy to put away our illusions, but in the end it is better and more rewarding to see things as they are rather than through the lens of literalism; or so has been my own experience.

At this point I should point out that my study of Alchemy replaced my own literalist views of the world, freeing me and allowing me to abandon the childish and narcissistic perspective of orthodox fundamentalism and exchange them for a quiet and profound sense of the divine.  Perhaps the most amazing aspect of having come to this sense of the divine is that it was never the object of my study to develop such a sense, especially following my own crisis of faith.  Nevertheless, there it is, and it presents itself without requirement.  Meaning that all the trappings of religion, the idea of “Sin,” the need for repentance, and the necessity for atonement simply vanish like a vaporous mist and are replaced with a deep and calm sense of love and the desire to share that feeling with others through acts of service, caring, and kindness.    

In the end, anyone who truly pursues a course of study in Alchemy will discover this to be the eventual outcome, for one cannot deconstruct their cognitive processes as I have described in class, lecture, or writing and this not be the case.  

With regard to immortality and power, my feelings align with your own and I have had little interest in either nor do I believe that this was ever the true intent of any practical application of Alchemy.  If there is power to be had in the study of Alchemy, it is in the development of one’s internal locus of control and the clarity that can come from becoming witness and partner to the endless and eternal pattern of consciousness that is what we experience as living in the universe.  

Thank you for your very sincere interest and questions regarding the pursuit and study of Alchemy.  Much luck and success in your study of the sciences!  

2 thoughts on “Ask An Alchemist – Is Alchemy Evil?

  1. Thank you for sharing the question and your answer to it. Your post inspired me to put down some of my own thinking in this regared: Any science can be used for good or evil. It is the intent of the practitioner that is ultimately good or evil. If I used science to create a bomb…then the science is not evil but I myself would be evil. From my perspective their was a good dose dose of prayer and contemplation from many alchemist especially those who seek to find the Divine hand of God in nature. They actually set high moral standards for themselves as their was the underlying thinking that man and material is not seperated but that evil in man wil undo the alchemical process itself. The big difference between alchemy and science for me is that the alchemist is part of the process and not seperated from it. Science excludes the scientists and remove him/her from the scientific process as an intelligent observer. The alchemist however becomes a participant in life and observe from within the process rather from without.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “The big difference between alchemy and science for me is that the alchemist is part of the process and not separated from it. Science excludes the scientists and remove him/her from the scientific process as an intelligent observer. The alchemist however becomes a participant in life and observe from within the process rather from without.”

    Dude! You totally nailed it! I completely agree.

    ” From my perspective their was a good dose dose of prayer and contemplation from many alchemist especially those who seek to find the Divine hand of God in nature.They actually set high moral standards for themselves as their was the underlying thinking that man and material is not separated but that evil in man will undo the Alchemical process itself. ”

    All so very true. It is my experience that in the end, all notions of good or evil, right or wrong, light or darkness, must be set from within. The vigilant Alchemist strives for an internal locus of control, an internally created and developed moral structure, and a great part of that is embodying the truth and honesty for which they eternally strive. And while some may see this as flawed logic (determining for oneself what is right or wrong), I would counter that the means by which one should cast judgement would be as follows: keep the Golden Rule. Meaning, do unto others as you would have done to you.

    From the standpoint of one bearing the Golden Rule, the act of purposefully causing harm to another is nothing less than purposeful self-injury. Similarly, doing nothing and allowing harm to come to another is again nothing short of purposeful self-injury. Our dualistic state of individual and shared consciousness reveals the truth of this and confirms the observation of the ultra Zen Master, Buckaroo Banzai, “No matter where you go, there you are.” Or in other words: take care of each other, for the life you save may be your own! ^_^

    Living by this standard is a major part of why I do what I do.

    Thank you for your comment! It really brightened my morning!

    Like

Leave a Reply

